Call us on:

Syrah was declared the Champion Wine of the Show in 2023. Mission Reserve Syrah 2021 received two trophies at the awards ceremony held in November 2023, indicating that this wine will undoubtedly garner more recognition both here and internationally.

Heading up the judging team was Matt Kirby. Matt was blown away by the calibre of entries in the 2023 competition. Kirby noted, “the high-quality of wines in the judging line up was a fantastic showcase of what our region has to offer”.

The Award Winners

Champion Wine of Show

Mission Reserve Syrah 2021

Hawke’s Bay Wine Growers Hall of Fame

Peter Cowley

Vintech Pacific Wine Technologies Champion Commercial Wine

Villa Maria Reserve Hawkes Bay Albarino 2022

Outstanding Wine of Provenance Award

Church Road McDonald Series Cabernet Sauvignon 2009 / 2015 / 2021

NZ Frost Fans Champion Single Vineyard Wine

Beach House Cabernet Franc 2021

Wineworks Sparkling Wine

Te Awanga Estate ‘Loved Up’ Methode Traditionelle 2016


Church Road Grand Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2019

Somerset Smith Partners Pinot Gris

Church Road Gwen Pinot Gris 2022

Dish Catering Rose

Esk Valley Hawke’s Bay Rosé 2023

Jenny Nilsson House of Travel HB Cellar Door of the Year

Ash Ridge Wines

Other Premium White Varietals

Esk Valley Artisanal Hawke’s Bay Chenin Blanc 2022

ATI Engineering Chardonnay

Black Barn Vineyards Barrel Fermented Chardonnay 2022

Red Blends, Merlot Dominant

Trinity Hill Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2020

Media Mint Red Blends Cabernet Sauvignon Dominant

Church Road McDonald Series Cabernet Sauvignon 2021

Carlile Dowling Solicitors Syrah

Mission Reserve Syrah 2021

Heretaunga Hastings District Council Other Premium Red Varietals and Blends

Beach House Cabernet Franc 2021

Hurford Parker Insurance Sweet Wine

Church Road Grand Noble Pinot Gris 2021

EIT Student Wine

Kayla Nielsen Albarino 2022

Hawkes Bay A&P Society Young Vintners Scholarship

Not Awarded


Full Medal List

Download Medal List